You Can Now Block Annoying or Abusive Google Drive Users

0
444
You Can Now Block Annoying or Abusive Google Drive Users

With only one click, you’ll strip someone of all sharing privileges together with your Google account.

Google Drive has some excellent sharing features, but sometimes a rotten egg will use those handy tools for evil. Fortunately, Google has just added some new features which will allow you to block anyone trying to abuse Drive’s sharing tools.

The New User Management Tools in Google Drive

The internet giant announced the new feature on the Google Cloud blog. It’s straightforward to share files on Google Drive, which is why it is so popular amongst people that want to figure together. But, unfortunately, it means someone who wants to harass others with files also has a simple job pestering people.

For instance, someone who knows your email can use it to share documents filled with spam or malicious content with you. Or someone can vandalize any documents you’ve shared with them previously.

Also See:  How to: Fix Windows 10 restarts randomly

To counteract this, Google is now adding a blocking feature into Drive. So if someone isn’t constructively using the sharing tools, you’ll block their Google account to stop them from harassing you within the future.

When you block someone, Google will stop them from doing the following:

Block another user from sharing any content with you in the future. This will be a reasonable control if, for instance, another user features a history of sending spam or abusive content.

Remove all existing files and folders shared by another user. This is often a simple thanks to obviating all spam or abusive content shared from a selected user on just one occasion.

Remove another person’s access to your content, albeit you’ve previously shared it with them.

As such, this is often the last word “nuclear option” when it involves getting obviate someone from Google Drive. With only one click, they can’t touch anything of yours, even things you’ve previously shared with them.

Also See:  Google Unveils New Assistant Features, Including "Find My iPhone"

Sometimes, Sharing Isn’t Caring

It’s straightforward to share files and documents in Google Drive… and in some cases, it is a little too specific. Now, if someone is harassing you by sharing files or editing those you’ve given them, you’ll block them out of everything with just one click.

Because it is so easy to share files with others, it is easy to forget who you’ve shared documents with and what level of access they need. Fortunately, Google Drive makes it easy to ascertain who has access to what, so you’ll kick out anyone that has turned sour since you shared things with them.

Also See:  Google's first wristwatch is rumoured to be an Apple Watch competitor in 2022