Pixel phones can automatically record a video in an emergency

0
238
Pixel phones can automatically record a video in an emergency

Although it develops Android for a good sort of OEM partners, Google naturally reserves some exclusive features for its Pixel phones. The private Safety app, for instance, gives Pixel owners a more powerful tool that will ensure their safety or, within the worst-case scenario, a minimum of letting their loved ones know their whereabouts in an emergency. However, simple words or calls aren’t enough to offer a transparent idea of things. Now, Google will allow Pixel users to record video, automatically sent to emergency contacts as required.

The Personal Safety app already features an honest number of toggles and options you’ll tweak once, so you won’t need to consider them just in case of an emergency. Although a number of these are often triggered automatically, like within the event of a car crash, there are times you would possibly want to activate that instead manually. The newest update to the app does exactly that, letting a user press the facility button five times to interact in an “emergency SOS” mode.

Also See:  Google Pixel Fold Smartphone Could Use Flexible Samsung Display When It's Revealed This Year

XDA, however, reveals that there’s more to the update than simply that trigger. The app now can record a video clip up to 45 minutes long which will then be automatically sent to emergency contacts. All of those are optional, and therefore the user can prefer to manually stop a video at any time or decline sending it to others. The plethora of options might be a touch confusing, so it pays to line them once and for all.

There are a couple of caveats to the present video feature that Pixel owners should remember. Despite Google’s best algorithms, a 45-minute video can find yourself being quite large, and you’ll need both spaces for storing and a stable Internet connection to send it. Video will also keep it going until it either reaches the 45-minute mark or the user manually stops it. In some emergencies, those won’t exactly be possible.

Also See:  How to: Hide Your Ip Address When Abroad

These videos are protected to Google’s servers, where they’ll stay there for seven days or until manually deleted. Before that expiration arrives, users can still share links to the video should they have it for a few purposes after the incident.